Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

American Girl

I had to go into town today for a DBS check, as my existing certificate has expired (for overseas readers, this is a check that employers should undertake to ensure their employees don’t have any criminal record which might make them unsuitable to work with vulnerable clients). Whilst I was in the city centre I naturally took the opportunity to meet my American friend Jill for lunch in Lovelock’s. It was lovely to see her for a catch-up after a few months of video and text-based chat.

After lunch, I popped into the office to organise some bits and bobs that I’ll need for a couple of events that I’m organising later in the month. It was only my third time in the office since the original lockdown and it was great to find my teammates Natalie, Ellie and Mo were also there, so I hung around and we all sat and worked together for a couple of hours, just like old times. I think it did me good!

Today’s song is for Jill. ‘American Girl’ by Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers https://youtube.com/watch?v=uNgt7U9QrFQ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.