Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Mary Queen Of Scots Got Her Head Chopped Off.

I keep torturning myself with big books! I need to read something slim and easy to handle next!

This was really good though, was worth the aching hands and arms. Even though it made me all angry and shouty at how unjustly she was treated. Curses on that B**** Elizabeth! (Although I'm now itching to read a biog of her and will probably feel differently about her after I do, but thats the joy of history for you, lots of different sides*) Funny to think that even after locking Mary up for almost 20 years and executing her she was still the true heir to the English throne and the Royal family today are her descendants. You can't keep a good woman down, even if you chop her head off ;)



*I must say though that Antonia Fraser was very even handed all the way through this biography, it's an insightful and scholarly work which managed to remain very readable. Her reasearch is incredible and it's obvious that she has tried to be as fair as possible and describe all the very complicated politics and motivations involved across the board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.