The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

May Day

We were parked up in St.Andrews in the van, so we could go and say a last farewell to Helen. Mum's oldest friend from school. At 93yrs, she was still in her own home, with carers assisting 4 times a day. With her confidence and mobility  reducing,  she had agreed to travel South to live in care  3 minutes from her daughter Trish.
We had a wonderful  hour chatting about old times and she was so 'Switched on'. She told me things  I wasn't  aware of about my Grandfather. She will be very sad to leave her beloved home of 60 years. We will be very  sad not to have her close to us.

I hope they can be more settled and enjoy her closeness.

I did manage some watercolour, which is something  I have never done before, en plein aire. The beach was my studio  a lovely antidote from the emotions.

XS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.