Not the Usual Washing

This morning we weeded a small piece of garden so I can plant new Dutch Iris bulbs.  The lid was off the compost bin and this fantail or piwakwaka was flitting around to see if there were any insects for it to snatch.  It is the uncommon dark morph and is also known as a black fantail.  It flitted from the fence to the washing line and to an old lily steam (in extra).  I was walking up the path with camera in hand after taking more pictures of the wax eyes feeding.  I liked the odd mix of wild bird and cloths pegs.  The yellow in the background is from the Ginko tree in Pam's section.  I also saw a Tui come into the new sugar water feeder.  I didn't want to scare it so I didn't change position to get a better look at it.  The feeder has been up for a week and this is the first time I have seen a Tui there.  It is great to have these native birds in a suburban garden.  

Diamond Days                     Eric Bibb   


 Some days you get diamonds,
Some days nickels and dimes
Some days life's a poem
Some days nothing rhymes,
Some days you're a winner,
Some days you lose,
Some days all you're doing is paying dues.

On a Wednesday I was playing in a biker bar outside Topeka
On that Friday I was playing on a blues cruise, going to Dominica
Ebbs and flows, like the tide
Some days you get diamonds,
Some days nickels and dimes,
Some days sparkle,
Some days nothing shines,
Some days you're given
Some days you choose,
Some days all you're doing is paying dues . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.