'This Much I Know To Be True'

I've been a Nick Cave fan since my first wife bought me a copy of 'Henry's Dream' for, I guess, my twenty-seventh birthday. Lord, that does seem a long time ago!

Since then, my love of the man and his work has waxed and waned and waxed again, as I've followed his quite extraordinary and unique artistic journey. (And I'm not using the work 'unique' carelessly here.)

This evening, there is a national showing of the film 'This Much I Know To Be True', which, amongst other things, looks at his foray into ceramics - portraying the life of the devil - his creative relationship with Warren Ellis, whom I absolutely love, and the work they've done together over the recent album's 'Ghosteen' and 'Carnage'.

When I say the film is excellent, I must caveat that, I think, by saying IF you like Nick Cave. But if you like music, the arts, and are interested in the creative process, I think you'd find it engrossing.

The Minx and I saw it at The Dukes in Lancaster, which is a lovely venue that I don't visit often enough. Today's photo is taken from my seat in the cinema, looking up into the wooden beams of the ceiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.