Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

Upper Itchen Benefice - Church in the Wood

Long boring day at work today, but got close to where I needed to be at the end of this week!

Driving home along the A272, I came up to a road sign on the advertising a village called "Woodlands". I've seen this sign post before and have been intrigued, and with the weather being so beautiful, I thought I'd give it a go.

Such a lovely drive along small country roads and I spotted this lovely little iron church literally in the middle of the wood! Apparently it was built in 1883 at the instigation of the Rev Alfred Ceaser Bishop (the rector of Bramdean) in order that the commoners, charcoal burners and gypsy itinerants who used Bramdean Common were able to attend a church.

Can't help thinking a pub would have been more useful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.