49 Years

The plan for our anniversary was to travel 20 miles away and watch grandson Merrick play baseball. We were in the area eating dinner when we got the call from daughter Karen. "There is no game. I guess there was a mix-up of the fields."

Instead, we went to visit our other grandson, baby Beckett. Or, at least grandma Lisa did. My son Jeff was working outside, so I jumped on his lawn tractor and cut his lawn.

49 years ago, I was standing next to my dad (the minister), waiting for Lisa and her dad to walk down the aisle. Dad gave us the 8 minute special, we had a "dry" reception, and then we were off to Ann Arbor to spend our first night as man and wife. WRONG!

The Elks were in town, and there wasn't a room to be had. So, we had to drive to Bowling Green, Ohio. Ohio. Who wants to spend their first night as Mr. and Mrs. in Ohio? (Just kidding...I love Ohio.)

1 more year to be golden. Best decision I ever made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.