Grey Heron

When I arrived at the loch this morning there was no sign of the young one but I spotted the male at the other end of the loch. I headed round there followed by the crow (who I kept giving biscuits to). I fed the male and made my way back to find the young one. She flew over to the edge of the loch but took off almost immediately as the male had flown down. She chased him back up the loch then returned. I gave her whitebait which she ate then flew back to the wooded area.
This afternoon was much the same. I fed the male but could not find the young one at all. I had all but given up and saw an older female Heron which usually ignores anything you give it. It however ate a few whitebait. I reached the end of the loch and heard the young one call. I turned around and saw her at the end  of the loch. I made my way over and the other female heron I had just fed landed next to her. They both raised their crest feathers and made a kind of grunt like sound then stood a bit apart. I gave the young one some whitebait. A bit of it landed nearer the older bird who picked it up. I expected trouble but there was none. They were both content to share the whitebait. I have never seen the young one share anything in the past.
The extra is a blurry shot of the young one flying overhead this morning.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.