hpx

By hpx

St Paul's Tai Tapu

I biked to a knife and tool sharpening course, at the Tai Tapu Community Centre. The mountains are coated in snow and the ride there was chilly. A sunny day makes a difference.

As I headed home I detoured in behind St Pauls anglican church. It's a magnificent building as is the similarly designed and constructed library next door.

I've never quite understood how either survived the earthquakes. Tai Tapu sustained a lot of damage from liquifaction and land movement, particularly in the 2010 Darfield quake.

They're very lovely buildings and I'm glad that their brickwork and heavy concrete tile roofs are intact.

A walkway leads towards the domain and community centre where I was. That's to be explored another day.

The sharpening course was fabulous. I sharpened one of my kitchen knives and know how to do the others. I've improved my secateur sharpening technique, and one pair of scissors is definitely snippy. I need a couple of finer sharpening stones before I tackle anymore knives and scissors.

Once home I put a bit of time into cutting stuff back in another part of the garden. Once that's done I can do the blood and bone, sheep poo, and pea straw thing. Then I can wash that wall of the house.

Today's gratitude: For a beautiful and safe ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.