In rhythm with each other

If I was to make a list of all the places I would like to visit, I’m not sure that Pocklington would appear on it . . . but here we are and it turns out to be a delightful place, with an excellent Italian Restaurant. And a splendid little Arts Centre.

Pocklington Arts Centre
Catrin Finch and Seckou Keita

I have for a long time been drawn to the sound of the Kora and to the enthusiasm and skill of Senegalese kora players. I already had an album of Seckou Keita when, quite a few years ago, I came across a concert where he was playing with the harpist Catrin Finch. Since then we have seen them a few times in different places, although obviously not for a while.

But here we are again at last. The only place we could get to on their latest tour - Pocklington.

And what a joy. The music they create together is pure magic - the harmony of sound and personality is staggeringly beautiful to behold. A glorious evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.