Young grey Heron

The young one was waiting on the grass for me this morning. She had her whitebait and returned to the loch. After chasing the male back up the loch from what I assume is her territory she settled on a log. I made my way around to feed the male with some pollock. He ate the pollock and the crow got a bit as well.
This afternoon I fed the male first and made my way round to see the young one. She flew over and I started feeding her whitebait. I was about halfway through when the other female heron arrived. They made their grunty welcome then I continued feeding them both. The young one is very submissive in the company of the other female and allowed her to eat the fish that had landed right in front of her. It is very strange to see as she does not seem to be scared of her.
The extra is the crow with a bit of whitebait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.