Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Different route

My early morning walk was different today for two reasons. Firstly because I took Sprite with me and discovered that, on his own, he walks quite nicely on the lead and, although he does sniff as he goes, he walks on at once if I say ‘come on’ so he doesn't slow me down.
Secondly, I walked a different footpath. Amazing that I have lived here over 45 years and had not walked this path until the ‘Tuesday Walkers’ used it  a couple of weeks ago. I knew where it starts and finishes but was put off by the fact it crosses the railway. I was reassured by the very easy and secure stiles on either side. Easy to get over, a wooden slide-up barrier at the side to let the dogs through, and plenty of room between the stile and the railway to wait if necessary. The footpath ends at the riverbank where the public footpath goes along the bank, through people’s gardens (see extra) to the bridge and the level crossing which is on our normal walking route, and home.
Only 1½ miles but a nice walk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.