Grey Heron

MrsD came with me today as she has not seen the male Heron or the other Female Heron yet. The young one was nowhere to be seen so we made our way to where the male waits. He was there as usual and walked over to be fed. When we had fed him we made our way back to see if we could find the young one or the other female. The young one was on top of the gabion basket and jumped down to be fed. I fed her then we headed home. This afternoon the park was busy but the young one flew over to the grass and had a really good feed on whitebait. She then flew over to the wooded area. I went in search of the male and the other female. There was no sign of the female but the male spotted me and walked over. I had 2 fillets for him, a pollock and a mackerel. I gave him the pollock and it was gone in seconds. I then gave him the mackerel and was as shocked as he was when a juvenile gull grabbed it. He grabbed the other end and a massive tug of war took place, which lasted several minutes until to my surprise, the gull won. The heron just looked at me. I however had a reasonable amount of whitebait left which I was able to give to him.
The extra is a shot of the tug of war (a bit obscured by the Irises).          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.