Helpet57

By Helpet57

Topless

I pass this building every Sunday on my way home from church along Waterloo Street.  It’s always intrigued me as it looks so unfinished.  I’m sure I’ve blipped it before  but it caught my eye today as I was stopped at the traffic lights.   I took a quick blip when the car was stationary so any marks on the blip are thanks to the dead flies on the windscreen!

This B listed building was constructed in 1898-1900 for Wright & Greig Ltd, distillers, to designs by J Chalmers, architect. It was commissioned during the Scotch whisky boom of the mid 1890s, but the collapse of the boom prevented the completion of this building, which was still unfinished in 1970.

The building was badly damaged in a fire in the 1940s, which resulted in the original dome and roof features being removed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.