someone is living in my backyard

It's hard to see but this is probably more for the memory than the photo.

There is a woodpecker in this photo, you have to look very closely. We have been hearing him/her in our tree for the past two weeks. Which made me today want to know more about woodpeckers. So I didn't what any normal person living in these days would do and looked it up on my phone, gotta love google. I'm not a bird person at all (must be because I watched Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds a hundred times) but after learning about the woodpecker I love this little creature. What I learned is that if it's a male he is trying to attract a mate with his so called drumming done in rapid succession on a dead tree branch, (which my tree is full of). If it's a girl she is drumming because she is making a hole for a nest for her soon to be baby but if that's the case, she should have her mate with her and I have only seen one. So my quess is... it's a male. Well in either case I thought it so romantic.

So I have a new hobby of woodpecker watching. I will update you as the story unfolds.

Any other knowledge from you bird watchers out there in blip land would be greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.