Fern

On a day of unreliable weather we don’t seem to have done a great deal, other than 20 lengths of the outdoor pool this morning and a bit of faffing this afternoon trying to sort out home insurance and one or two other bits of domestic admin.

I’d taken a few unsatisfactory blip possibilities earlier but just now the sun made a belated appearance and the light on this fern under the apple tree in the garden caught my eye.

It put me in mind of Dylan Thomas’s poem, Fern Hill:

“Now as I was young and easy under the apple boughs
About the lilting house and happy as the grass was green,
     The night above the dingle starry,
          Time let me hail and climb
     Golden in the heydays of his eyes,
And honoured among wagons I was prince of the apple towns
And once below a time I lordly had the trees and leaves
          Trail with daisies and barley
     Down the rivers of the windfall light”


The rest of the poem is here if you’re interested:


https://poets.org/poem/fern-hill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.