IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Home Ground

We arrived home late on Friday evening after a long drive; 598 miles from the Kerry cottage to our cottage in Norfolk. There were some major traffic jams and slowdowns on the way in the vicinity of Cheltenham and Birmingham. But our dear cat Billy was there to greet us and our house sitter Joan had taken great care of everything, and it felt good to be home. Nothing like a night in your own comfortable bed.
I have been pretty busy in the garden the last couple of days, watering, weeding and potting things on, supporting taller plants and so on. It was a very chilly spring here and everything seems to have taken off and gone wild during the almost three weeks we were away. The cow parsley has rocketed skyward and some of the plug plants I planted in March such as Meadow Buttercup, Ragged Robin and Wild Clary have come into flower. The new flowerbeds in front of the Garden Room are also starting to come together; every year seems to be a little different and this year the alliums, “Purple Sensation”, are doing well.
In the afternoon, I had a dental appointment which I was rather dreading. I have been avoiding dentists for the last four or five years since my good old NHS dentist Mr. Wally Faber retired. His successor was young and hopeless and I tried a private dentist in Cromer who managed to scare me into unnecessary and expensive dental treatment.
I needn’t have worried. My new dental practice are really good and seem very trustworthy and honest. I had a couple of minor fillings but it was all done efficiently with the minimum of fuss, and was virtually painless even without anaesthetic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.