misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Spring Blue Flowers

I love the various small blue flowering bulbs of spring. Not sure what these are... I'd have to look them up. Not scilla. I got them gifted to me from a neighbour. These had jumped out of their bed and were very happily growing in the thick gravel driveway. So, the bulbs are planted in a new bed for next year and these little flowers are in the kitchen window making me happy. They are in a toothpick holder-- just to give you an idea of their size.
I have no idea how the other blooming spring bulbs are going to fare tonight. Going down to -4ºc! Still, a lot of them have wisely held out and are not peeking petals out yet. This could very well be one of those springtimes I have been warned of when the last frost or even snow is June 1st.

It was way to windy and cold today to feel like planting the new (dormant) shrubs I got from the Conservation sale. I spent some time today reading about their needs online. There are several varieties, most of them thrive in wet boggy soil. I have that for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.