Jubilee

With all the hullabaloo going on about the Jubilee, I thought I should make a contribution.


My Aunt Nellie worked for the well known London based  photographic studio Baron (active 1956 - 1974). She was a photographic retoucher and when I was clearing out her estate, I found quite a few photographs, etc that she must have worked on.


This is a negative of the famous Pietro Annigoni portrait of the Queen.


If you haven't dozed off by now, here is a personal anecdote.


The queen went on a state visit  to South Korea in April 1999.
Shortly after that, we were invited by a major sponsor (the Korean firm, Samsung)  to the Horse of the Year Show and  then asked if we would like to meet the Queen and Prince Philip.


When the Queen got to us, I was a bit tongue tied, but my wife asked her, “Did they sing Happy Birthday to you in Korean?” I don't remember the answer but I then asked,  “Did you eat Kimchi?”


“No” she replied, “My cousin the King of Greece warned me not to!”


And off she swept.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.