WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Baby Apples!

This morning we went shopping early - to get it over and done with! We had hardly anything left in the fridge.
I shouldn’t have been walking on my sore leg but I went slow and tried not to put weight on it. We were in and out dead quick and back home. 
I felt so tired and fell asleep before lunch while I was reading. I never used to do that.
After the torrential rain last night, today was mostly dry and I even sat out for a bit and thought about what to write my poem about.
I was sorting out the sweet peas which were all lying down on the ground when I saw these two tiny apples on one of the dwarf apple trees. I remember seeing just two blossoms back in April. There were none on the other tree. 
I also noticed we have gooseberries for the first time on a bush that we relocated when we moved here nearly 4 years ago. There are also lots of blueberries and raspberries coming on and I bought some strawberry plants yesterday. It is so lovely to have fruit growing in our small garden.

158/365
Surprise! 

We have two apples on our tree!
One for you and one for me.
The tree is only in its first year 
And the weather in April was so severe
Those two blossoms I saw in Spring
Survived and bees have been pollinating
Now we have fruits to look forward to
So thank you bees, we’re grateful to you. 

I’m missing ballet and tap tonight, I can’t bend my knee. :-(
Never mind - Sewing Bee is on at 9pm :-D

Goodnight :-) x 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.