McWilliams

By McWilliams

One of the finest days in London...

...if not the best day in the year for this great city!

I am so passionate about the London Marathon, having run it twice and watched it numerous times. It reduces me to tears every time. I only had to stand close to the start line today during the moment's silence out of respect for Boston to get me going this year.

We are fortunate enough to live in Blackheath, so today we wandered up to see the start of the race and then down to Greenwich, followed by a trip under the foot tunnel to Canary Wharf. It is incredible to see the thousands of athletes, so many of them such unlikely runners in terms of age, physique and ability, all putting themselves through the paces of 26.2 tough miles.

This time, I was slightly smug about not running, but mostly jealous that I wasn't running along with them. The atmosphere is incredible and I would urge anyone to not only put it on their bucket list, but as Nike used to say, JUST DO IT!

Followed by a trip to V&A to see the new David Bowie exhibition. As the sun was shining too, it was definitely a day filled with the best combination of sport, music and culture London has to offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.