*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Sam & John

John passed away last night. He was the husband of my good friend Sam, who I worked with for nearly 10 years. I got the sad text this morning while I was still in Manchester.

I took this photo at Leeds Town Hall in October 2014. They wanted their wedding to be a very quiet, private affair, so no one knew about it, not even family. There was only me there to take some photos and 2 of their oldest friends as witnesses. I always felt so honoured to have been a part of that day, and that she trusted both my photography and ability to keep it a secret at work for so many weeks.

God, was I nervous, I think more than even they both were! People, and especially wedding, photography really isn't my thing at all. I used to look at this photo and it annoyed me that I'd not noticed John's belt sticking out. But now I look at it and think, if I'd noticed it and got him to tuck it in, that lovely natural moment would have been lost.

John was diagnosed with early-onset dementia a few years after this was taken and has spent his last few months in a care home. He was only in his 60s. Hope he's at peace now.

I was glad to get home this afternoon for some quiet time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.