One day at a time

By MikeSlade

Problems

This area of the village is managed by the county council. They let the contract for grass cutting. The new contractors have been twice this year. They were described to me as ‘cowboys’ by two residents. Apparently the contractor has issues with staffing and equipment. I would add management to that. 
Having let countless government contracts for, among other things,  grounds maintenance in the past (prior to 1990) I know of some of the issues. Engaging a well founded and well managed contractor with a proven track record and reliable staff is essential. Retrieving the situation is now going to be the challenge for the council. The grass will continue growing. If a new contractor is brought in they will want to be paid a premium to cut grass of this length, and this area did not include the collection and removal of grass so there will be piles of it left around. 
I used to keep a banned list of contractors. I would add this one to it if I were in charge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.