That time of year again

The winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction will be announced on Wednesday so I thought I would, as usual, show the shortlist and make a few comments about it.

I do not make predictions as to what might win, but I do usually say which one I would choose and amazingly in the last few years the judges have agreed with me! I doubt it will happen this year as I have found it hard to choose the one I think the best. Many other readers are finding it just the same - some are resorting to 'one of these three'.

It is a strong shortlist, despite there being surprises when the longlist was announced. All six are good books, well worth reading. I have enjoyed them all and for different reasons. I am so glad I have read them. It's why I read for these prizes, especially this one, as it gets me reading books I would never even pick up otherwise. They are all books that make you think and stay with you. 

I cannot even tell which one I would choose, let alone which one the judges will choose. I have simply ordered them in the order I would select them if I had to - reading from left to right. The order might change tomorrow. 

I do not recommend any as people's tastes differ and many people don't want to read a more challenging book and these are all challenging in their own way. 'Great Circle' is the most accomplished and satisfying book, but it is huge and others are more innovative. 'Sorrow and Bliss;' is getting a lot of attention and could easily win. I just didn't take to it as much as others have. 

So there it is. I can't blip flowers as I don't have them, but I can blip books! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.