Tuftybanana'spics

By tufty

Hmmm, a bit of an unusual one.

So, we went to Pécs for the weekend. I'd recommend that anyone go and spend time in the Zsolnay factory which has been turned into a cultural centre. The whole thing is both imrpessive and, due to the ceramics, really groovy. Anyway, on Sunday, having picked wild garlic in the surrounding woods, we were back at the main square, finishing an ice-cream (which was awful...in fact the only negative elements of the trip were the coffee and ice-cream to be found in Király utca), when I chanced upon this encounter. I didn't see the start of the altercation, but one of the guys (the one on the receiving end) was obviously homeless, whereas I couldn't decide about the aggressor. He was a drunk, that much was obvious, but he seemed too "cleanly dressed" to fit the category of homeless. Maybe that's just me stereotyping. Anyway, there was a concert of sorts on, so I didn't catch what the dispute was about, but it was over in a matter of seconds with a tally of: 1 incident of spitting in someone's face and, rather comically, in an odd manner, one incident of a sharp movement of both fists in someone's general direction as a sort of aggressive "don't mess with me" movement. I found it comical in that I don't even think that I've ever witnessed such a movement outside of comic television...what was called to my mind was the actions of "Mr. Rottweiler"(Brian Glover) in Bottom...the only time I think I've seen anyone make such a motion. Ugly to see the scene in Pécs, but I thought it warranted posting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.