Reflated

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow,

My day started with chat with Ellie. She has not been well lately. Her family has norovirus which I remember all too vividly. I told her it was called "norovirus" and she replied, "Really? I thought I had a bad case of 'bum wees'."

We shared bum wee stories. And so I started today laughing out loud at tales of Ellie sh*tting her pants.

I am no sophisticate. I admit it readily. 

It was a good start to the day. But I was a little deflated. The reason is that we were due to go out again today. And while that's not normally a bad thing, I was still really tired from yesterday.

We were supposed to go to see a film called, "Whina". This is about the Māori activist Whina Cooper and we were looking forward to it. Not only that, but the screening was to fund Corrie's waka ama team who are going to London in August for the world championships.

Loulou and Tiger were also going, so we were going to cadge a ride with them from Paraparaumu to the city. 

But.

Loulou was not feeling well, and a colleague of hers just came down with COVID so they pulled out to be on the safe side. 

Which meant we were back to where we were yesterday. 

BUS

EFFING 

REPLACEMENT

I was still quite grumpy about yesterday's events. So when the news came through I hit the "eff it" button. Corrie has been paid for the seats. So she already has our support. Do we REALLY need to spend at least two and a half hours travelling to do it in person?

I thought not.

Caro was SO relieved. The poor thing was still exhausted from yesterday. Her relief was palpable. She was in full palp, after I made my declaration. 

Corrie understood. 

And as a result we have had a LOVELY lazy day. I put the new Downton Abbey movie on tv which Caro loved, and we lazed around on the couch with cats all day. 

And THEN -

Just when you think things couldn't get any BETTER - 

I put on series six, episode ten of "Bob's Burgers". The episode is called, "Lice Things Are Lice" and I was sitting there quite happily watching it on my laptop when it happened. 

FART JOKE

And not just any fart joke either. One of the BEST fart jokes I've heard in a while. It involves farting at a funeral. 

And I CRIED. 

I am no sophisticate. I admit it readily.

So I stopped watching on my laptop and made Caro watch it. "It's a fart joke isn't it?" she said. "I know it's a fart joke." 

Bob's Burgers delivered. And I cried again.

"Oh for Christ's sake," she said. "I might have known." 

But then she laughed too. Tears came out. "This is so STUPID," she said, still giggling.

And now we are watching the next episode of "Legendary" and eating pie. I feel myself recharging. 

And I look over at my lovely wife, enjoying her pie, laughing at fart jokes and lounging around in pyjama bottoms and I just love her. She makes me so happy. 

And thus I am "re-flated". Maybe even "re-flatulated".

S. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.