Father's Day on the Lake

What a beautiful day to be on the water. 75F and sunny, with a gentle breeze.

The fathers gathered on one of the decks. My dad Jim is seated, and standing from left to right is me, son Jeff (his 1st Father's Day), baby Beckett, and our dear friend Robert (it's his house.)

Burgers and dogs, macaroni salad, onion casserole, chips and dip, Frito corn salad, deviled eggs, and a couple different desserts. WAY too much food.

I'm proud of my boy Jeff, the way he has plunged into fatherhood, and I told him so in a card. I'm also proud of my Dad, and told him, too.

I said on Mother's Day that fathers are fathers, but mothers are mothers. Take that however you want, but...Fathers...very important in the grand scheme of family life. Amen on a Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.