windy gap

A perfect day for a trip to the Lakes, as Sarah and Chris wanted to do another recce of Stage 5 of the Bob Graham Round. I drove to Honister and they ran up over Dale Head, Hindsgarth and Robinson and down into Keswick with Jess, while I walked up the Gables (Green and Great). I had forgotten how scrambly the way up Great Gable is from Windy Gap - how could I ever have taken small children up there? I was a bit apprehensive about the descent, but just took it slowly and all was OK.

I met the others at our favourite coffee shop in Keswick and then we started the drive back home, but after only a few minutes, the low pressure tyre indicator came on so I pulled over into a lay-by on the A66 and sure enough the tyre was pretty flat. We were all prepared to put on the spare but couldn't get the wheel nut covers off so I called Green Flag. If you remember Sarah's experiences with the RAC, I am pleased to tell you that this was very different - Knight of the Road Philip had us sorted and on our way in half an hour. I had to go a a max speed of 50 mph so we didn't take the motorway back. A bit slow but we had a nice roadside picnic at Rheged to help us on our way.

Sorry that yet again I will not have time to look at all your journals - work tomorrow - but at least I'm not having to go out in the gloaming to get in my walking miles :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.