Grey Heron

The young one didn't seem to be around this morning. I made my way round to the area where the youngest one hangs out, on my way there the older female appeared so I gave her some mackerel. I continued round to the clearing and sure enough the young heron was there waiting. I gave it some pollock and the rest of the mackerel and headed back to see if I could find the young one. I heard the manic call of the male as he came blustering through the trees ahead of me. I gave him some whitebait and continued on my way. I heard him calling and turned round to see him flying along the path after me. I turned round and was about to continue walking when right in front of me  the young one was standing. I started feeding her when the male landed a few feet away from her. I was quite surprised she didn't chase him. However I continued feeding her and gave the odd bit to the male. I just happened to turn and noticed the older female had landed just behind me on the loch side of the fence. However I had nothing left.
This afternoon there was no sign of the young one or the youngest one. I stopped at the clearing where the youngest one hangs out and saw her take off and fly over from the middle of the loch. I gave her some Mackerel and some whitebait and started back. The young one flew through the trees and landed ahead of me on the path. I had a fair bit of whitebait and gave it to her before heading home.
The crows (2 adults and a squawking fledgling)  followed me all over this morning and got all the dog biscuits I had. This afternoon I noticed a crow standing beside the picnic tables. It spotted me and flew right over and got a bit of whitebait. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.