Charlie17

By Charlie17

Surf's Up

Yesterday, I was helping a friend move vinyl albums. He has thousands and can't shift them himself. We were discussing the albums and their covers.
This is one of my favourite covers. It is Surf's Up by The Beach Boys. It is based on a sculpture "End Of The Trail" by James Earle Fraser. It is not my favourite Beach Boys album, that would be Pet Sounds, but there are some great tracks. I particularly like Disney Girls, A Day In The Life Of A Tree and the title track Surf's Up.
In the days when I bought vinyl, I was often swayed by the cover of the album. It's just not the same for me with CDs. The cover is too small. Some artwork became almost as famous as the albums themselves, Sgt Pepper and Sticky Fingers are two that come to mind.
I wonder if other people have favourites!

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.