stujphoto

By stujphoto

Flower Macros

I felt like doing some macro photography today so I set off to the Garden Centre with my camera with macro lens, extension tubes, tripod and micro positioning plate. In working with extension tubes the distance of the camera from the subject is the crucial element rather then the focusing of the lens and a positioning plate enables you to alter this with great precision. I looked for plants in the garden centre that had lots of minute detail and yet were far enough from most of the visitors for me to work undisturbed. In the end I chose to capture the centre elements of a range of Gerbera plants. Whilst there is an overall circular element there was an amazing range between the different varieties. I've included a Dahlia bud as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.