Helter-skelter

By Juli

Buzzard!

Missed a fantastic shot of our heron flying off into the fog this morning but managed to just about catch the buzzard this afternoon. Why are moving birds so hard to photograph? Notice I'm blaming it on the birds, not my lack of photographic prowess, ha, ha!

EDIT: We used to have a pair of buzzards which flew over our house every day but just lately I've only seen this one on its own - I assumed the other one has been nest-watching. I just saw Combi31's blip of a red kite and I'm very excited as I'm sure that's what this bird actually is - not a buzzard at all (although to be fair it's listed as a 'similar bird' on the RSPB website). I don't think I've ever seen one for real and certainly didn't think we had any this far south so, for a bird that was almost extinct here, it's a welcome sight. I perhaps wouldn't think that if I was a buzzard, though, as now I think I know why I haven't seen them for a while! If anyone knows about red kites, I'd be grateful for any further information!

OFSTED Update: I wasn't at the school today but I just saw someone I know who works there and she hadn't seen any geography teachers crying in the corner so I suppose that's a good sign!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.