Small Town 4th of July Parade

Today was a fun day for us. Part of the 4th of July parade lined up right in front of our house; Ellie was invited to climb on the Fire Engine while they sat waiting for the parade to start; she was very excited. I love a small-town parade with its vintage cars, fire and rescue vehicles, homemade floats, and family bands. After the parade, the Weiner Dog Races were a big hit at the close-by park; I could hear the excitement from my house. Then the games and races for the kids were on the beach. See the extra photo of the Wheelbarrow Race. Please notice the beautiful blue sky; it was a perfect day. Tonight was the big fireworks display which we all enjoyed, but Ellie fell asleep in my lap, even with all the loud bangs. She was talking about her favorite colors and how pretty the fireworks were one minute, and then complete silence, I knew she was sleeping on my lap. Good thing we were close to our house because my husband could walk back and get her stroller; we would have struggled to carry her home; she was out and relaxed like a wet noodle. 

I don't particularly appreciate how people continue to set off fireworks days before and after the organized display by the town of Rockaway Beach. It is frightening to the animals and some people,  and I find it annoying and rude.

Ellie's grandma and grandpa left to go home after the parade,  but Ellie will stay with us until Wednesday. I hope the weather continues to be nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.