Chiara

By Chiara

Bloom like a flower

I was sitting in my truck, being all creepy by trying to photograph this potential blipper through the side mirror. I guess I was not stealthy enough because a bystander caught me (and, evidently, shot me a death glare). I'm also not observant enough because I did not notice him until I went through the pictures in my camera later today. When I saw this picture for the first time, I couldn't stop laughing! Getting this kind of reaction is every blipper's worst nightmare!

I'm completely hooked to the T.V. show (or mini-series) Rome. It's brilliantly written, the production design is phenomenal, and the acting is really convincing. It's just a wonderful piece of work. Here's an excerpt:

---

(Pullo and Vorenus are two of Cesar's best soldiers. They are lying on the ground at nighttime during one of their missions.)

Pullo: What are they, stars?
Vorenus: Stars? Holes in the celestial spheres. Holes through which the light of the heavens shine.
Pullo: How big are these holes?
Vorenus: They're big. They only seem small to us because they're hundreds of miles away.
Pullo: Big enough for a man to climb through?
Vorenus: I suppose. But a man would never be able to get up there in the first place.
Pullo: I don't see why not.
Vorenus: How?
Pullo: He could hold onto a giant bird.
Vorenus: (laughs) It doesn't work like that.
Pullo: Why not?
Vorenus: It's philosophy. It's hard to explain.

---

Holes in the sky through which the light of the heavens shine, huh? That's a very interesting and optimistic perspective. It's a physical version of hope. If people truly believed that, we all would look forward to nighttime so we could look up at the stars and "see" heaven and be reminded that there's something better, greater, and purer out there. From now on, I will refer to stars as holes in the sky. It's just poetic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.