Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

HANGING OUT WITH PATRICK

O unworn world enrapture me, encapture me in a web
Of fabulous grass and eternal voices by a beech,
Feed the gaping need of my senses, give me ad lib
To pray unselfconsciously with overflowing speech
For this soul needs to be honoured with a new dress woven
From green and blue things and arguments that cannot be proven.


From Canal Bank Walk by Patrick Kavanagh

Kavanagh is not a poet I have spent time with before and I am not sure that I like his poetry much, but this weekend my favourite seat was beside him on a bench by the Grand Canal. I was in Dublin to attend an introductory course on Mindfulness.

Truthfully, I started my blip journal on 19 July 2011, but as this weekend was such a turning point in my life, I have decided to back date it to this point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.