JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Figure it out

A few years ago when I took students to New York, one guy we visited in Universal McCann used a phrase 'not so nuch'. It became a buzz phrase for the trip, very much in the 'you had to be there' bracket.

This year we were in DDB when the formidable and impressive Global Head of Creative Recruiting Jennifer Novak spoke with us. Students asked about Scots applying for internships - 'why not? You figure it out' was her answer. And what about accommodation? 'You might not live in the city, but you know what? You figure it out.' If you want something badly enough, if you're ambitious (nicely) enough, if it's burning so strong within, there will be obstacles and difficulties, nay-sayers and doom merchants. But if you want it so bad, you figure it out.

So when I use the phrase with students, as one of my first-years Angeline tweeted on a hashtag today, I am not being obstructive, or worse, obtuse. I want my students to think creatively sure, but to think independently - I'm there, but figure it out.

Was this a great Blipfoto? Not so much. I didn't have a great pic, so I figured it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.