We Will Remember Them

They Shall not grow old as we that are left grow,age shall not weary them nor the years condem. At the going down of the sun,and in the morning we will remember them. Today is ANZAC day in New Zealand and on our West Island Australia. This morning I attended the Dawn service where we remember our servicemen and women who have fallen in battle. I am fortunate enough that my Parents and Grand Parents survived the invasion of Holland. My late mother witnessed atroscities,my Grandfather survived imprisonment for Harbouring Jews and my father was in a forced labour camp as he was too young at that stage to be in the army. After Holland was liberated my father was in the Army and served in Indonisia fighting the Japanese. I think my Father was quite proud of me when as a 17 year old I came home and said I have joined the Army.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.