stujphoto

By stujphoto

Moss Seedlings

I was walking along the river bank yesterday afternoon when my eye was caught by the green moss growing on top of the wall. I looked particularly attractive for once in a way - green and luscious but almost furry texture. I don't know if this was because we had had rain in the morning and it had now dried in this way.

In desperate need of a blip (sounds like a urinary complaint !) I went over to examine it and discovered these tiny red seed head growing in the midst ot it.

This was definitiely blippable but involved me using the manual focus on my Sony RX100. With an SLR this is easy, you look through the viewfinder, focus and then press the shutter. With a compact it is more hit and miss, whilst the LCD screen has a focus enlarger which enables you to focus using the front ring. You then have to remove your hand from the front ring and move it back to the camera and then press the shutter button, hoping against all hope that you have not moved the camera. As these seedlings are tiny and I was as close in as I could get a focus, the room for error was great. Fortunately I managed to get two or three shots that were spot on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.