Upheaval ........................

......... on Main Street One Street.

What can I say.

I guess when I started my One Street project I was anticipating lovely images of a sunny street with lots of happy tourists eating ice creams and looking at the flower laden troughs and hanging baskets. At least, that was how I thought of this street.

However the scene is very different. One Street just doesn't seem to have recovered from the flood in November. Sand bags still litter the street as people don't know where to dispose of them. The council is not required to supply or dispose of them. The Forth Inn, popular with locals and tourists, is still closed. To add to the woe, Scottish Water has been digging up the pavement on both sides of the street. (Go large).

The National Park has been consulting with locals as to how to promote the village as 'The Gateway to the Trossachs'. Seems pointless to start spending money on cosmetics when the root of the problem hasn't been tackled. A walk around the river would quickly show the amount of fallen trees and various other obstructions that have started to cause dams across the width of the river. I just hope sense prevails and the river is attended to sooner rather than later. Dread the thought of another flood like the last one.

Could moan on for a long time about this.

Hopefully my next 'One Street' shot will be a bit brighter.

Realised this looks like a postcard. Don't think anyone would want to send this to friends to boast of their holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.