I Know What I Know

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow,

This is not such a great blip for today. I was trying to take a picture for a colleague actually, showing how you can use this bit of software called Miro on the electronic white board. 

But, as it turns out, you can't. According to Ellie, it is a bit crap. 

And this was the only picture I took all day, so that is your blip.

Ellie brought her son Casey into work today as it is school holidays here. He is 9 and obsessed with Fortnite so I assumed her would be bored and bought him a Lego racing car on my way in. 

The three of us actually had a pretty fun day together. We went for lunch and after Ellie was done with Miro, Casey played with the whiteboard. 

I also attended a meeting with Briar, who is just a little BA and still very unconfident. I am not on her team, but I'm happy to sit in and act as her security blanket if you will. 

She thanked me after the meeting and told me that it's comforting for her because I know everything. 

I tried to tell her the opposite was true. BA's aren't supposed to know ANYTHING. It is our job to be the dumb@rse in the room.

"That's why it's the ideal position for me," I volunteered. 

I also told her that our job is supposed to be groovy and fun and that if she was feeling stressed out by it (she clearly is) then she can call on me for help anytime. 

The thing is, I've been Briar. I've felt that way. And I don't want her or anyone to feel that way again. So I hope I can convince her that knowing everything about knowing nothing is all she needs. 

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.