misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Choice for Today: a Serviceberry budding

There were so many wonderful blip choices today! After the dreary winter just barely passed, it is amazing to feel spring come alive again and to watch it happening everywhere... hourly. All my old friends who I've come to love these past few years are returning. For some strange reason I feel grateful for winter today. Is it "spring fever"?
My blip choice for today is this budding Serviceberry. It grows for me as a small tree or shrub if the suckers are allowed to grow. The rabbits seem to think they should not. Though the buds are still wrapped up, they will unfurl in pristine whiteness in a few days if we continue enjoying warm weather. Green leaves will follow soon after.

This Canadian native also grows wild here--further south of the border. I can see them blooming like white snowflakes high up in the bare branches of the forest margins around here, too. I have three young trees in my garden. They are the first to bloom and bring joy right at the beginning of this year's grand spring and summer symphony.

The second delight comes in summer with their little purple berries that are sweet to taste. So popular are they with the birds that I guess they would take one right out of my fingers as I am picking. The little birds waste no time stripping them off the trees. Easy work completed in an afternoon.
The last delight the Serviceberry brings to me is the red autumn leaf colour. It brillliantly runs into purple at times.

Glad to have you meet one of my close friends, Almenanchier canadensis. Perhaps it wil get blipped again later on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.