Pick your own strawberries

Today I cycled to Garsons Farm in Esher with a small group of friends to pick strawberries. We took a much longer route than I had envisaged through woods and common with tracks which had sand and lots of tree roots….not something I am keen on. Several of us got off to walk! On the way back we took the route I would normally use on quiet roads and much much quicker too! The strawberries were of variable size due to the lack of rain recently and despite irrigation, so you had to chose carefully to get juicy ones. I think they are also quite expensive at £5.99 per kg. This is more than in many supermarkets at present. They are tasty but by the time I got home some had been jolted about and were a bit squishy! So some have g9ne in the freezer.

I went to the allotment on my way home and was amazed to find some ripe runner beans and the first cucumber which I picked. 
We had only 2.5 mm of rain last night which w@s welcome but not enough.
Today has been warm and humid again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.