Grey Heron

The older female heron was waiting for me this morning at the edge of the loch. I started feeding her and was aware of another heron landing on the viewing platform a few yards away. I went to investigate and saw it was the youngest one. I gave it a bit of whitebait, (it is less timid than the older female and walked towards me for more) the older female tried to chase it off but it just jumped over her and flashed it's crest feathers. The older one retreated to the water next to the platform and I fed them both. No sign of the young one though until after lunch. At one point the 3 of them were on the platform but they chased the youngest one off. I gave the young one and the older female a good feed then saved some and went to seek out the youngest one who was hiding near the clearing. As  I approached it came out of hiding and waited for it's feed. I must admit I thought it strange that it was more afraid of the other heron than it was of me. 
The extra is the youngest one coming out of hiding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.