My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Point and care

Got to do some glucose tolerance tests today.
It's been a while and my first attempt -I'd never used the new tubes before- was so pitiful all I could do was apologise to the nice lady as I did it again, but I got back into the swing of it after just a couple more attempts.
So a bit of practice was called for...it's actually quite hard to lancet yourself, use the glucose metre, and take a photo of it all at the same time.
It all goes quite well with part 2 of my studying too, all about point-of-care testing.



A glucose tolerance test is used to diagnose diabetes and involves a fasting sample followed by overloading your body with glucose and then measuring the glucose 2 hours later to see how your body has dealt with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.