Nearly the end of the mens tour

I have been following the Tour de France by watching the highlights on ITV4 each evening. 

In 2016 I was in Paris after completing a London to Paris bike ride for charity in 4 days, it was the hardest event I have ever done! It was great to be able to walk along the Champs-Elysee  and other central areas with no traffic as the roads were already closed off in the morning. There were many stalls selling souvenirs and I bought this apron. So I have got it out for my husband to wear as he is cooking for the family later.
It was great to see the whole ‘caravan’ of lorries and floats which preceded the riders coming into Paris. I would like to go again to see the end of the race , maybe next year?!

Great that there is a woman's tour this year starting on Monday and also that the commentary team on ITV4 has included Lizzie Diegnan( nee Armitage) a very successful British women rider.

The mens tour of Britain is in September and two of the stages are near where we have friends. One stage finishes in Gloucester Docks where friends have an apartment in a converted warehouse right by the finish line so we plan to go and visit hen.

Early this morning I took Libby for a walk by the river on the rec and there were so few people around and none of the usual childrens sports teams. No doubt all away on holiday and some in queues at Dover or airports.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.