Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Knock.Knock

This door knocker is probably 540 years old. It is on the main gate to Oxburgh Hall which was built in 1482. Until recent years the gates were closed each evening and now that the renovations are complete it is expected that they will be closed each night again. There is a small pedestrian door in one gate - hence the knocker (and the spy hole below it) - so the family, who still live there, will be able to get in and out without hauling the great gate open. See the gates in the ‘extras’. I was on duty at Oxburgh today  taking care of a display just inside the gates and I spent time thinking what tales those gates and that knocker could tell - who has passed through that gateway in the past 540 years?

This is my 3000th Blipfoto - I thought it appropriate to take a pic of something older than me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.