Meadow Brown - or is it?

Meadow Browns don’t often come into my garden but today I had two. They are beautiful, soft brown and very fluttery. 

I’m used to seeing them with one pupil on the eyespot. This one seems to have two. 

The butterfly which has two pupils is the Gatekeeper and sometimes they can look alike.

This one rested on the ground with the wings folded (as the Meadow Brown is said to do. Gatekeepers apparently rest with their wings open.)

I’ve posted this photo on the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust photography group Facebook page, asking the obvious question. The members of the group are wonderfully helpful - and I’ll add any firm answer I receive.  So far several people have “liked” the photo, but nobody has said anything.

I just love these - and the bee is a bonus. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.