KathyH58

By KathyH58

July 31

Top left photo and in a clockwise direction: Cape d'Or lighthouse, Five Islands lighthouse, Joggins fossil cliffs and some baby ducks at Sackville Waterfowl Park.
Last night I went for a walk at Amherst Point Bird Sanctuary, and all I saw was a couple of chickadees. I guess all the birds were across the border at the Sackville Waterfowl Park. This morning I decided to make the 15 minute drive to get there. It was worth the trip, lots of birds, including this family of ducklings.
Next stop was at the Joggins Fossil Center. I did see some fossils. You need long legs or to be young and agile to get down the steps to the beach easily. I'm neither, but still made it down to the beach.
After leaving Joggins, there were 2 roads that would take me to Advocate Harbour, which was my next planned stop. I thought I would get a few views of the Bay of Fundy along the road I chose, but it was only the occasional glimpse of the water thru the trees. It was 50 km of twisty road thru the woods with very little traffic, I met 10 cars in the 50 km.
One thing I wanted to see in Advocate was the Cape D'Or lighthouse. I read that the road was steep, but that's all I knew. I learned that I need some weight in the back of the truck to drive a road like that again. It's steep, it's a gravel road and there were a couple of switchbacks. I looked at the trail going down to the lighthouse and decided to take a few photos from the lookoff. 
I continued on with a couple of other stops, one of them was Five Islands Lighthouse Park.
It was a long day. I checked out of the motel just after 8 am and arrived home at 5:30 pm.
The Natal Day fireworks are on tonight, but I decided not to go and see them. I'm ready for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.