Living my dream

By Mima

Muddy

It wasn't until I downloaded this photo that I realised quite how mucky Bean's nails were this morning. Since then she's been manicuring them and they are spotless again.

It was a cool start to the day, so she did the only reasonable thing: dived under the blankets next to the heater and didn't move for a couple of hours. 

I, on the other hand was baking crackers and Carvie Biscuits (thank you CMC) to restore my faith in myself as a cook after yesterday's bread problems. I feel much better now. 

This afternoon I've been in the fruit cage, cutting out the old raspberry canes and carting them off to the rubbish heap. It's a job which catches me out every year: it takes far longer than I think. It took three hours. 

All I need do now is tie in the young canes, top them, pull up all the rotten carpet and replace it with weedmat, then compost all the fruit bushes and water everything in. 

I might get it all done this week because for once the rain set to hit the South Island looks like it'll miss us. About time too!

Our July average rainfall in North Otago is 32mm. This July we had 225mm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.