Bumblesnaps

By Beewatcher

This used to be her playground

Underneath these trees are the daffodil bulbs I helped my five year-old daughter plant with her classmates.
Her first school,long disused,has been demolished and a housing estate is being built on the site. Seventy-two units of quality housing will stand where there once were classrooms. Other children will run where the playground was,and younger feet will walk the area where the playing-field echoed every year with the excitement of sports day.
My daughter and most of her schoolfriends won't see this,scattered as they are to other towns,newer friendhips and relationships,some now parents themselves.
But every time I walk by,I can still see a little girl in a blue dress,planting daffodils.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.